City Council

Our Government

The City operates under a Council-Manager form of government. Residents elect a Mayor and four additional City Councilors which make up the City Council. The Council is responsible for enacting ordinances and resolutions which govern the City. The Mayor presides over the council meetings.

The City Council appoints a City Manager who serves as the chief administrative officer and is charged with the enforcement of all ordinances and resolutions passed by the City Council. The Deputy City Manager, Chief of Police, Public Services Director, Finance Director and Planner are appointed by the City Manager.

Council Emails:

Mayor Elaine Brown, Seat 1  - [email protected]
Term: December 6, 2016-November 2024

Vice Mayor Kerry Chin, Seat 3 - [email protected]
Term: February 27, 2019 - November 2024

Councilor Lauren Key, Seat 2 - [email protected]
Term: December 1, 2020 - November 2024

Councilor Josh Messinger, Seat 4 - [email protected]
Term: December 3, 2018 - November 2022

Councilor Nia Livingston, Seat 5 - [email protected]
Term: February 7, 2022 - November 2022

If you would like to address Council, please complete this form.  Emails will be entered into the record and distributed to Council.



Council Members



Seat 1

1302 Neptune Grove Dr E

(904) 318-5904


Seat 2

(954) 290-6824

Vice Mayor

Seat 3

227A Margaret St

(904) 241-5473


Seat 4

220 Hopkins St #1

(904) 990-7495


Seat 5

(904) 420-4190